Criminally Negligent Homicide

Criminally Negligent Homicide

What is Criminal Negligence in Texas?

In Texas, it is a crime to cause the death of another by criminal negligence. Criminal negligence is legally viewed as something more than ordinary negligence where a person does something an ordinary person would not do. Criminal negligence involves doing something that is a “gross deviation” from what an ordinary person would do under the circumstances. The problem is that there is no clear line as to what is “doing something different” versus a “gross deviation.” What’s worse is that law enforcement and prosecutors are pushing more and more to say that something as simple as running a stop light or failing to watch out for other vehicles on the road is enough to be considered criminally negligent.

Watch Brent Mayr talk about criminal negligence in this news story featured on Houston’s ABC13 with investigative reporter, Ted Oberg.

Jail Time for Criminal Negligence in Texas

A person can find themselves investigated, charged with, and prosecuted for Criminally Negligent Homicide even if they are not drinking and driving.  All it takes is one negligent act – talking or texting on a cell phone, playing with the radio, putting makeup on, running a stop sign, speeding, failing to keep a proper lookout for other vehicles on the road – and you can find yourself not just charged with any crime, but a felony offense. At that time the person arrested for Criminal Negligence, whether it is in Victoria County, Houston or elsewhere in Texas, should look for an expert Texas criminal defense attorney. Criminally Negligent Homicide is considered a fourth-degree felony that carries a punishment of anywhere from 180 days to 2 years in a state jail facility.

A Car or Truck can be Considered a Deadly Weapon in Texas

Law enforcement and prosecutors will then, in addition to charging a person with this offense, allege that a deadly weapon was used: not a gun, not a knife, but the car or truck the person was driving.  By doing this, it becomes a third-degree felony and the possible punishment is increased to 2 to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.  Even worse, it prohibits a judge from giving the person probation.

Defense Attorney Defending Criminal Negligence Charges in Victoria and State of Texas.

This is one of the most frightening experiences a person can find themselves in.  You may think, “I wasn’t drinking, I wasn’t doing anything bad,” but you can still find yourself arrested and charged with felony criminal negligence in Texas if law enforcement even suspects that you are at fault in causing an accident where someone is killed.  For that reason, you need someone with the skill, knowledge, and experience to deal with these types of specialized offenses. You need Victoria attorney Sierra Hatley and board certified criminal attorney Brent Mayr.

Contact Mayr Law, P.C. today to obtain competent legal advice and representation by calling the Victoria Office at (361) 333-5620 or contact us online.

Board Certified
Avvo Rating 10.0
Super Lawyers Logo
National Trial Lawyers
 

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.